About the Mad River Valley Planning District

The Mad River Valley Planning District was created in 1985 by the Towns of Fayston, Waitsfield and Warren. The Purpose of the Planning District is to "carry out a program of planning for the future of the Mad River Valley. The planning program shall be directed toward the physical, social, economic, fiscal, environmental, cultural and aesthetic wellbeing of the member Towns and their inhabitants."

Articles of Agreement


The Planning District currently has a full time Executive Director. The District is governed by a Steering Committee that consists of a Select Board Member and a Planning Commission member from each of the three member Towns, a business representative from the Mad River Valley Chamber of Commerce, and a non-voting representative from Sugarbush. The Central Vermont Regional Planning Commission (CVRPC) has a non-voting ex-officio seat. The three towns and Sugarbush fund the Planning District equally.

More detail...


©2008-2015 Mad River Valley Planning District • PO Box 471 • Waitsfield, VT 05673 • 802-496-7173

Website by Mad River Web